Dunfermline Carnegie Library

We are pleased to congratulate our client Dunfermline Carnegie Library and Galleries on being named “The Best Building in Scotland” for 2017 and winning the Andrew Doolan Award.

The judging panel’s full citation reads: “In 2007 Richard Murphy Architects won a competition for a major new cultural hub in Dunfermline’s historic centre. The new building is organised along a top-lit internal street, criss-crossed by bridges. To provide access an adjacent car park was redesigned as a walled garden leading to an entrance courtyard. External materials are sandstone, oak and Corten steel, acknowledging the town’s industrial heritage and the steel magnate Andrew Carnegie, after whom the building is named.”

“Internally the new spaces connect with the existing library, reference rooms repurposed as events spaces. At the lower level the local history reading room is organised in three tiers. The children’s library, opens directly onto the garden. On the floor above the café’s terraces offers views over the Abbey. Above is a double level, barrel vaulted museum and three flexible art galleries. The circulation ‘architectural promenade’ offers key views of significant historic buildings, culminating in a cube window framing views of the Abbey.”

Heather Stuart, Chief Executive of Fife Cultural Trust, Fife Cultural Trust staff, who manage and operate the facility on behalf of Fife Council, is delighted to see the building pick up yet another prestigious award. She said: “This is the fifth award this striking new facility has achieved for its architecture, due in no small part to Richard Murphy’s pioneering vision to sympathetically blend an established building with a bold new futuristic vision. It’s also incredible recognition for the hundreds of builders, staff and volunteers who contributed to the fulfilment of that ambition”.


2CQR are pleased to have supplied the self-service solution to this award winning library and look forward to working with Fife Cultural Trust on future projects.

Photo of award ceremony by Malcolm Cochrane